Sign up for free for 7 days

Alaska CPA Requirements

See what you need to become a CPA in Alaska. Download your FREE Alaska CPA Requirements Guide to learn everything you need to become a CPA in AK!

How to Become a CPA in Alaska

Curious how to become a CPA in Alaska? You’re in the right spot. Welcome to your one-stop-shop for CPA Requirements in Alaska. Navigate through the tabs below for a comprehensive overview of your state’s specific CPA requirements, including: education and residency requirements, licensure details, who to contact, and how much the exam costs.

150

Semester Units

4

Months of Experience

$1,085

in Application Fees

No

Residency or Citizenship
Requirements

One

Mandatory State Ethics Exam

Yes

Participates​ in International
Exam Program

Getting your Alaska CPA

Tabs CSS and JS

CPA Exam Requirements

Education Requirements

Credit Requirements: 120 semester units from regionally accredited university recognized by the State Board (if not an Accounting concentration, then must include 15 semester hours in Accounting)

Minimum Degree: Baccalaureate Degree

Additional Requirements:
A completed degree with an accounting concentration with 24 semester hours in accounting, 3 semester hours in business law, 3 semester hours in economics, and 3 semester hours in college-level math, statistics or computer science
A degree in progress with an accounting concentration and 15 semester hours in accounting (applicant must be within 18 hours of completing a Bachelor’s degree)
A completed bachelor’s degree with no accounting concentration and 1 year of public accounting experience under direct supervision of a CPA


Residency Requirements

Citizenship: U.S. Citizenship is not required

Minimum Age: 19

Additional Requirements: It is not necessary to be a resident, employee, or keep office(s) in the state

State License Requirements

Social Security Requirement: Yes

Educational Requirement: 150 Semester hours (including requirements completed for exam) including 33 hours in accounting and 27 hours in business

Participates in International Exam Program: Yes

Experience Requirements: Earn the required number of “experience points” based on your education status:

Option 1: If you have a Bachelor’s Degree with a 24 semester hour accounting concentration, you must fulfill FOUR experience points.

Option 2: If you have a Bachelor’s Degree without an accounting concentration, you must fulfill SIX experience points.

*Must involve providing one or more of the following: Attestation, Accounting, Compilation, Financial Advisory, Management Advisory, Consulting, Tax

* Must have 500 hours in attestation work experience

Ethics Exam: Must pass AICPA Professional Ethics Exam for initial licensure

State Board Contacts

Alaska State Board of Public Accountancy
Box 110806
Juneau, AK 99811-0806

Email:
license@commerce.state.ak.us
Phone: 907-465-3811
Fax: 907-465-2974

CPA Fees

Initial Application Fees $185
AUD $224.99
BEC $224.99
FAR $224.99
REG $224.99
Total $1084.96

   *$90 re-examination application fee

Scroll to Top
Get Your eBook Today!

Fill out this form to have our eBook sent directly to your email address.

Get Your eBook Today !

Fill out this form to have our eBook sent directly to your email address.

Get Your eBook Today !

Fill out this form to have our eBook sent directly to your email address.

Get Your eBook Today !

Fill out this form to have our eBook sent directly to your email address.

Get Your eBook Today!

Fill out this form to have our eBook sent directly to your email address.

Access Until You Pass

The Elite-Unlimited course provides UNLIMITED continuing access to your course materials until you pass the CPA Exam! How does it work? Upon activating your course, you will have an initial 36 months of access. You can then renew your subscription as many times as you need to pass your exams—for FREE. Simply click the “renew” option in your student account and you can continue studying your high-quality course materials without losing any of your data and course progress.

Renewal Instructions

  •   Please purchase a renewal using the "Renew" option from the My Account page
  •   To qualify for renewal pricing, course must be renewed before it expires
  •   All renewals are effective from the current expiration date and cannot be deferred
  •   Test information cannot be reset (deleted) with renewal unless eligibility criteria is met (see Help page)