North Carolina CPA Requirements

See what you need to become a CPA in North Carolina. Download your FREE North Carolina CPA Requirements Guide to learn everything you need to become a CPA in NC!

How to Become a CPA in North Carolina

Curious how to become a CPA in North Carolina? You’re in the right spot. Welcome to your one-stop-shop for CPA Requirements in North Carolina. Navigate through the tabs below for a comprehensive overview of your state’s specific CPA requirements, including: education and residency requirements, licensure details, who to contact, and how much the exam costs.

150

Semester Units

1

Years of Experience

$1,130

in Application Fees

No

Residency or Citizenship
Requirements

One

Mandatory State Ethics Exam & 8-hour Ethics Course

No

Participates​ in International
Exam Program

Getting your North Carolina CPA

Tabs CSS and JS

CPA Exam Requirements

Education Requirements

Credit Requirements: 120 semester units (180 quarter units)

Minimum Degree: Baccalaureate

Additional Requirements: 30 semester hours or equivalent quarter hours of upper division accounting with no more than 6 hours of accounting principles and 3 hours of business law. At least 20 semester hours or equivalent quarter hours of graduate accounting courses that are open exclusively to graduate students


Residency Requirements

Citizenship: U.S. Citizenship is required

Minimum Age: 18

Additional Requirements: It is not necessary to be a resident, employee, or keep office(s) in the state

State License Requirements

Social Security Requirement: Yes

Educational Requirement: 150 Semester hours (including Bachelor’s Degree ) with 24 hours consisting of 3 hours from 8 of the 10 fields of study: communications, computer technology, economics, ethics, finance, humanities, international environment, law, management, and statistics

Participates in International Exam Program: No

Experience Requirements: 1 year experience in the public practice of accountancy under the direct supervision of a properly licensed CPA OR 4 years experience in the field of accounting, teaching accounting, or any combination of such experience determined by the Board to be substantially equivalent to the foregoing

Ethics Exam: Must complete 8 hour Ethics Course and pass Exam on North Carolina Rules of Professional Ethics and Conduct (1 year prior to applying for licensure)

State Board Contacts

North Carolina State Board of CPA Examiners
State Education Department, Division of Professional Licensing Services
1101 Oberlin Road, Suite 104
PO Box 12827
Raleigh, NC 27605-2827

Email: phyllise@nccpaboard.gov
Phone: 919-733-4224
Fax: 919-733-4209

CPA Fees

Initial Application Fees $230
AUD $224.99
BEC $224.99
FAR $224.99
REG $224.99
Total $1129.96

   *$75 re-examination application fee

Scroll to Top
Get Your eBook Today!

Fill out this form to have our eBook sent directly to your email address.

Get Your eBook Today !

Fill out this form to have our eBook sent directly to your email address.

Get Your eBook Today !

Fill out this form to have our eBook sent directly to your email address.

Get Your eBook Today !

Fill out this form to have our eBook sent directly to your email address.

Get Your eBook Today!

Fill out this form to have our eBook sent directly to your email address.

Renewal Instructions

  •   Please purchase a renewal using the "Renew" option from the My Account page
  •   To qualify for renewal pricing, course must be renewed before it expires
  •   All renewals are effective from the current expiration date and cannot be deferred
  •   Test information cannot be reset (deleted) with renewal unless eligibility criteria is met (see Help page)