Alaska CPA Requirements
Exam and License Requirements To Become a CPA
Alaska CPA Requirements
Alaska CPA Requirements
The state employs a single-tier licensing system. Consequently, after satisfying the prerequisites, competent applicants can apply for the CPA license. Take a look at the CPA license requirements to be a CPA in Alaska here:
|Social Security Requirements||No|
|Age, Citizenship, and Residency Requirements||
|Good Moral Character||Yes|
|Education Requirement for Licensure||150 hours (including B.A.)|
|Pass the Exam||Need to score 75 in each section to pass|
|Work Experience||4 experience points|
|Ethics Exam Requirements||No|
|International CPA Examination Program||Yes|
While many states require a Social Security number to apply for a CPA license, you do not need a social security number to get a CPA license in Alaska.
- You do not need to have U.S. citizenship to obtain a CPA license in Alaska.
- The minimum age requirement to sit for the CPA Exam is 19.
- There is no residency requirement to apply for a CPA license in Alaska.
First-time CPA applicants must meet one of the following requirements:
- Complete a bachelor’s degree from an accredited college or university, including 24 semester hours in accounting, 3 semester hours in business law, 3 semester hours in economics, and 3 semester hours in college-level math or statistics. To replace the math or statistics requirement, candidates can complete a computer science degree from an accredited college or university while meeting the other semester-hour requirements, with the accounting semester-hours requirement dropping to 15 hours.
- If your bachelor’s degree in accounting is still in progress, you must be only 18 semester hours away from graduation, with 15 semester hours completed in accounting.
- Complete a bachelor's degree or its equivalent from a regionally accredited college or university and one year of public accounting under the direct supervision of a CPA.
For CPA licensure, candidates must have completed at least 150 semester hours of college education.
You have an 18-month window to complete all four sections of the CPA examination; although, you are free to take the tests in any sequence you like. You will need to score at least 75 in each section to pass the CPA Exam.
In Alaska, you are required to earn “experience points” based on your current education status.
- Candidates who have a bachelor’s degree with 24 semester hours in accounting need four experience points.
- If you have a bachelor's degree that does not include accounting, you need six experience points.
- The work experience must include one or more of the following: accounting, attestation, financial advisory, management, consulting, tax, and advisory.
The American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA) administers the standard CPA Ethics Exam with an 11-hour self-study course. This course is on a CD-ROM with 40 multiple-choice questions and all the information you need to get ready. Even though the test is not as difficult as the CPA Exam, it is very detailed. Candidates must get at least a 90 on it to pass.
The International CPA Examination Program is for non-U.S. candidates who want to earn the U.S. Certified Public Accountant (USCPA) title. It is designed to increase opportunities for progression, higher income, and more job satisfaction among international candidates. Alaska is part of the International CPA Examination Program, through which international candidates can appear for the CPA Exam.
Alaska CPA Exam & License Fees
The CPA Examination application fee in Alaska is $185. Additionally, there is a registration fee of $90. The fee to take each section of the CPA Exam is $238.15.
|Alaska CPA Exam Fees|
|Initial Application Fee||$185.00|
|Auditing and Attestation (AUD)||$238.15|
|Business Environment and Concepts (BEC)||$238.15|
|Financial Accounting and Reporting (FAR)||$238.15|
Once you have fulfilled all the criteria for CPA licensure and successfully passed the CPA Exam, you can apply for the license. It will cost you around $300. The license application fee is non-refundable.
Alaska CPA License Renewal Requirements
In Alaska, CPA licenses must be renewed every two years. No matter when they were issued, all licenses will expire on the last day of the odd-numbered year. A renewal application will be mailed to you at least 30 days before your current one expires. There is no grace period for practicing with a lapsed license, so be sure to renew on time. The deadline for earning continuing professional education (CPE) credits is December 31st.
Alaska CPA Continuing Education Requirements
CPAs in Alaska need 80 hours of Continuing Professional Education (CPE) every two years to keep their certifications current. CPE credits provided by National Registry Sponsors are recognized by the state.
Alaska CPA Exam: Exam Dates, Score Release and Scheduling
You can apply for the CPA Exam in Alaska after fulfilling the educational requirements laid out by the state board. The exam is held year-round, with scores becoming available within 48 hours of the target score release dates. To apply for and schedule your exam, use this simple guide below:
Submit CPA Exam Application and Fees
Candidates can submit their applications to take the CPA Exam on the NASBA website. You will be required to provide CPA Examination Services with a copy of your transcripts that have been sent directly from your school or university.
Obtain Authorization to Test (ATT)
After you have completed all of the steps required for the application process, ABPA will submit an Authorization to Test (ATT) to the National Candidate Database. Your ATT is absolutely necessary in order to issue your Notice to Schedule (NTS).
Receive Your Notice to Schedule (NTS)
When you apply for the CPA Exam, you should receive your NTS within three to six weeks. It's a must-have if you want to take the CPA Exam. In order to schedule CPA Exam sections on the Prometric website, you will need your NTS.
Schedule Your Exam With Prometric
The CPA Exam should be scheduled as soon as possible after you receive your NTS. In order to do this, please go to the Prometric website. The only information required is your NTS number. A quick online search will assist you in locating your nearest testing center if you're having trouble doing so.
Pass the CPA Exam
As was previously mentioned, passing the CPA Exam is crucial to become a certified public accountant. To pass, you need a 75 or higher on each section. Keep in mind that you must complete all four exam sections within an 18-month window.