Arkansas CPA Requirements
Exam and License Requirements to Become a CPA
Arkansas CPA Requirements
Arkansas CPA Requirements
Becoming a CPA in Arkansas requires candidates to meet the prerequisites laid out by the Arkansas State Board of Public Accountancy. These include educational requirements, passing the CPA Exam, gaining work experience, and more. The state board works closely with the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA) and the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA) to facilitate the CPA Exam and licensure process.
|Social Security Requirement||Yes|
|Age, Citizenship, and Residency Requirements||
|Good Moral Character||Yes|
|Education Requirement for Licensure||150 hours (including B.A.)|
|Pass the Exam||Score 75 or higher in each section|
|Work Experience||1 year of full-time experience|
|Ethics Exam Requirements||No|
|International CPA Examination Program||Yes|
CPA candidates in Arkansas must produce their Social Security number. It helps ascertain compliance with tax laws and benefits.
- U.S. citizenship is not required to file a CPA application in Arkansas.
- Candidates must be at least 18 years old to apply for their CPA license.
- State residency is not required to become a CPA in Arkansas.
To sit for the CPA Exam in Arkansas, candidates must complete a bachelor’s degree or higher with at least 120 semester hours. This is to include:
- 30 hours of upper-level accounting (or 20 hours of graduate-level accounting), covering financial accounting, management accounting, governmental or not-for-profit accounting, federal taxation, auditing & attestation, and accounting information systems.
- 30 hours of business courses other than accounting (or 20 hours at the graduate level).
- Courses must be completed with a grade of “C” or better.
The accounting or business component may include three semester hours earned from an accounting internship and three semester hours earned from independent study.
To obtain CPA licensure in Arkansas, candidates must complete 150 semester hours. This education requirement must be fulfilled within 3 years of passing your final CPA Exam section.
To qualify for CPA licensure, candidates must score at least 75 in each section of the four-part CPA Exam. All four sections must be passed within an 18-month time period.
One year of full-time experience is required to get a CPA license in Arkansas. The experience can include any service or advice in accounting, attest, management advisory, financial advisory, tax, or consulting skills. A licensed CPA should verify the experience. You can obtain the experience through government, academia, industry, or public practice.
The Arkansas state board does not mandate candidates to take the CPA Ethics Exam. However, it requires licensees to obtain at least 4 hours of CPE in accounting professional conduct and ethics for license renewal. The course helps licensees understand the ethical and moral principles of the profession.
Arkansas participates in the International CPA Examination Program and encourages non-U.S. citizens to become CPAs in the state. Candidates must have their educational transcripts evaluated by an evaluation service member from the National Association of Credential Evaluators (NACES). If you meet all state exam requirements, you can proceed to apply for the CPA Exam and fulfill other requirements for licensure.
Arkansas CPA Exam & Licensing - Cost and Fees
CPA candidates from Arkansas must pay an initial application fee of $50 and examination provider fee. These non-refundable fees are paid to the Arkansas State Board of Public Accountancy. Candidates must also pay $238.15 for each exam section to NASBA directly.
|Arkansas CPA Exam Fees
(Paid to Arkansas State Board of Public Accountancy)
|Initial Application Fee||$50.00|
|1 Exam Section||$75.00|
|2 Exam Sections||$90.00|
|3 Exam Sections||$105.00|
|4 Exam Sections||$120.00|
|Arkansas CPA Exam Fees
(Paid to NASBA)
|Auditing and Attestation (AUD)||$238.15|
|Business Environment and Concepts (BEC)||$238.15|
|Financial Accounting and Reporting (FAR)||$238.15|
After passing the CPA Exam in Arkansas, you have three years to obtain licensure in the state. To qualify for licensure, you must pass the CPA Exam and complete at least one year of full-time work experience as stipulated above. Upon satisfying these requirements, log in to the state board's online license application to submit your application. There is a non-refundable application fee of $50, followed by an ASP & FBI Background Check fee of $35, and $110 for the annual registration of your CPA license. The annual registration fee will be refunded if your application doesn't meet the requirements.
|Arkansas CPA Licensing Fees|
|Application fee (non-refundable)||$50|
|Annual registration fee||$110|
|ASP & FBI background check (non-refundable)||$35|
Arkansas CPA License Renewal Requirements
CPA license holders in Arkansas must renew their licenses annually with a fee of $110. CPA licenses expire on December 31 of each year and may be renewed by licensees in good standing with the board. Your license will be renewed if you meet the Continuing Professional Education (CPE) requirements for the year and submit them with your application. You may need to pay a monthly penalty for the late renewal of your license, determined by the board.
Arkansas CPA Continuing Education Requirements
To fulfill Arkansas CPE requirements, candidates must complete 40 hours of continuing education in the 12 months preceding their license expiration date, or 120 hours of continuing education in the 36 months preceding their license expiration date. Initial license holders in their first calendar year of licensure must obtain CPE hours prorated based on their licensing date. For additional requirements, please visit the Arkansas State Board of Public Accountancy website.
Arkansas CPA Exam: Dates, Score Release, and Scheduling
You can apply for the CPA Exam in Arkansas after fulfilling the educational requirements laid out by the state board. The exam is held year-round, with scores becoming available within 48 hours of the target score release dates. To apply for and schedule your exam, use this simple guide below:
Submit the CPA Exam Application
Arkansas CPA candidates can submit their CPA Exam applications via the state board's application service. You must enter all of the required information and have your university send your transcripts directly to NASBA. The initial application fee is $50, paid to the Arkansas State Board of Public Accountancy.
Obtain Authorization to Test (ATT)
Upon determination of your eligibility to take the CPA Exam, the state board will send an Authorization to Test (ATT) to the National Candidate Database (NCD) at NASBA. Eligible candidates will be billed for the exam section they applied for.
Receive Your Notice to Schedule (NTS)
Your Notice to Schedule (NTS) will be available in the NASBA candidate portal within three to six weeks of application. It's valid for six months from the date of issue. You will need to bring your NTS to the testing center on exam day.
Schedule Your Exam With Prometric
CPA Exam scheduling has been made easy by Prometric. Candidates can schedule their exams based on their preferred date and location. You can check for the nearest center to your home before scheduling the exam.
Pass the CPA Exam
The minimum passing score for each section of the CPA Exam is 75. All four sections must be passed within an 18-month window to qualify for licensure.