Connecticut CPA Requirements
Exam and License Requirements To Become a CPA
Connecticut CPA Requirements
Connecticut CPA Requirements
Having a Connecticut CPA license indicates that you are legally allowed to practice in the state of Connecticut. However, obtaining a CPA license requires you to meet specific criteria. Here is a list of the prerequisites for acquiring a CPA license!
|Social Security Requirement||Yes|
|Age, Citizenship, and Residency Requirements||
|Good Moral Character||Yes|
|Education Requirements for Licensure||150 hours (including B.A.)|
|Pass the Exam||Score 75 to pass each section|
|Work Experience||2 years in public accounting|
|Ethics Exam Requirements||Yes|
|International CPA Examination Program||Yes|
Candidates looking to become a CPA in Connecticut must have a valid Social Security number (SSN) in order to apply.
- U.S. citizenship is not required to obtain a license in Connecticut
- There is no age limit to become a CPA in Connecticut
- It is not necessary to be a resident, be an employee, or keep office(s) in the state
To sit for the CPA Exam in Connecticut, candidates must have completed the following education requirements:
- 120 semester hours from an accredited college/institution
- 46 semester hours of accounting and related subjects that include:
- Business law
- Note that the 46 hours must include at least 24 semester hours of strictly accounting subjects
To obtain a CPA license in Connecticut, candidates must have completed 150 semester hours that include the following requirements:
- 36 semester hours in accounting
- 30 semester hours in economics or business courses
- 60 semester hours in general education
The most crucial step in obtaining a CPA license is passing the CPA Exam. It is a computer-based, 16-hour-long exam that has four sections. The minimum score to pass each section is 75. In addition, you must pass all the sections within a time span of 18 months.
A minimum of 2 years (104 weeks) of work experience in accounting is required. You must work in a government office or industry that needs skills such as accounting, attesting, management advisory, tax, or consulting, among others. The entire work experience needs to be supervised by a licensed CPA.
Candidates who took the exam prior to January 1, 2000, and have less than 150 semester hours of education need 3 years (156 weeks) of work experience. The experience cannot be older than 10 years, and must be conducted under the supervision of a CPA who has held their license for no less than 3 years prior to the verification of the experience.
You must finish the Professional Ethics Licensing course, which is delivered by the American Institute of Certified Public Accountant (AICPA), and score at least 90% on the ethics exam. You can take the course at any time during your licensure process. It’s readily available through the AICPA or Connecticut Society of CPAs (CSCPA).
Connecticut is an active member of the International CPA Examination Program. Please note that all non-U.S. educational credentials must be evaluated by a member of the National Association of Credential Evaluation Services (NACES).
Connecticut CPA Exam & Licensing - Cost and Fees
In Connecticut, the initial CPA Exam application fee is $170. Each section of the CPA Exam costs $238.15 to take. The fee for re-examination is $85.
|Connecticut CPA Exam Fees|
|Initial Application Fee||$170.00|
|Auditing and Attestation (AUD)||$238.15|
|Business Environment and Concepts (BEC)||$238.15|
|Financial Accounting and Reporting (FAR)||$238.15|
Connecticut is a two-tiered state, meaning candidates apply for a CPA certificate once they pass the CPA Exam, then their CPA license once they meet their remaining requirements. The fee for the initial CPA certificate is $150, while obtaining both the CPA certificate and license costs $300.
|Connecticut CPA License Fees|
|Initial CPA Certification||$150.00|
|Initial CPA Certification & Registration||$190.00|
|Initial CPA Certification & License||$300.00|
Connecticut CPA License Renewal Requirements
In Connecticut, your CPA license must be renewed annually before December 31 of each year. During the renewal process, you must pay a fee of $565 and submit your Continuing Professional Education (CPE) report. You must complete your CPE from July 1 of the previous calendar year to June 30 of the current calendar year.
Connecticut CPA Continuing Education Requirements
Since CPE in Connecticut has a self-reporting system, it is up to each licensed CPA to keep track of their own records. The office will only audit your report. Your board will not store your reported CPE courses or totals. Thus, you must keep your records for at least three years beyond the conclusion of your CPE program. You need to earn at least 40 hours of CPE in every licensing cycle if your license is not exempt from CPE reporting. You can complete a maximum of 60 hours, with 20 hours being eligible to carry over into your next renewal cycle. For exemptions and other specific requirements, visit the Connecticut state website.
Connecticut CPA Exam Dates, Score Release, and Scheduling
To make your exam scheduling easier, all sections of the CPA Exam are available to take on a continuous basis throughout the year. Every two years, the AICPA publishes an updated schedule to let candidates know when their scores will be released based on when they took the exam. Typically, your score should be accessible within 48 hours of the target release date.
Other than score release dates, another stressful aspect of the CPA Exam is the application and scheduling process. Here is a step-by-step guide to help:
Submit CPA Exam Application
The first step to applying for the CPA Exam is determining your eligibility. Make sure you meet all the CPA Exam requirements for Connecticut. You can apply through the NASBA website and submit supporting documents along with it. Make sure you have submitted all of your educational transcripts.
Obtain Authorization to Test (ATT)
Once your documents and transcripts have been reviewed and accepted, the Connecticut State Board of Accountancy will send you an "Authorization to Test" (ATT). Your ATT indicates that you are eligible to sit for the CPA Exam.
Receive Your Notice to Schedule (NTS)
After you send in your CPA Exam application, it will take between three and six weeks for you to receive your Notice to Schedule (NTS). Your NTS number is required to schedule the CPA Exam. In addition, it is a must-have document to sit for the exam. If you do not have your NTS with you, you will not be allowed to take the exam.
Schedule Your Exam With Prometric
You must visit Prometric's website to schedule the CPA Exam. Decide on your testing center and a suitable exam date beforehand. Conduct a quick internet search to identify the closest Prometric testing center to you.
Pass the CPA Exam
The CPA Exam has four sections: Auditing and Attestation (AUD), Business Environment and Concepts (BEC), Financial Accounting and Reporting (FAR), and Regulation (REG). The scoring scale for each section is 0-99, with 75 being the score you must reach in each section to pass the CPA Exam.