Vermont CPA Requirements
Exam and License Requirements to Become a CPA
Vermont CPA Requirements
Vermont CPA Requirements
As you work toward CPA licensure in Vermont, there are three primary requirements to be aware of: education, work experience, and ethics exam requirements. Additionally, there are a few other licensure requirements that most candidates will have met by default that are important to note.
|Social Security Requirement
|Age, Citizenship, and Residency Requirements
|Good Moral Character
|Education Requirement for Licensure
|150 hours (including B.A.)
|Pass the Exam
|Score 75 or higher in each exam section within an 18-month period
|1 year of full-time experience (2,080 hours)
|Ethics Exam Requirements
|International CPA Examination Program
Vermont CPA education requirements
To take the CPA Exam, candidates in Vermont must complete at least 120 semester hours of college education, with 30 being in accounting and business subjects. This is to include:
- 6 semester hours in finance or managerial accounting
- 3 semester hours in auditing
- 3 semester hours in U.S. taxation
- 3 semester hours in U.S. business law
If your course completion or graduation occurs within 60 days following your examination date, you must file official transcripts no later than 120 days following the examination.
For CPA licensure, candidates in Vermont must obtain a bachelor’s degree and at least 150 semester hours, 42 of which must be in accounting, auditing, and related subjects.
Vermont CPA experience requirements
CPA candidates in Vermont are required to complete 1 year (2,080 hours) of work experience in public accounting under the supervision of a CPA. The experience must include work in specific areas to be considered valid, such as:
- The application of U.S. generally accepted accounting principles (GAAP), as well as generally accepted auditing standards (GAAS), statements on standards for accounting and review services (SSARS), and other services subject to generally accepted professional standards.
- The review and preparation of tax provisions and reserves.
- Financial statement preparation from the books of account without audit and related tax returns or the performance of other related services.
- Design and installation of accounting, cost, or other systems when not related to an extension of auditing assignments and other management advisory services.
- A combination of experience determined substantially equivalent by the State Board.
A full outline of accepted forms of public accounting experience and substantially equivalent forms of work experience can be reviewed within the State Board’s administrative rules. Upon satisfying the requirements, your supervisor must submit a Report of Supervised Experience form to the State Board.
Vermont CPA Ethics Exam requirements
To qualify for licensure, Vermont CPA candidates must complete a course of study in professional ethics for accountants (equivalent to 8 hours of continuing professional education) that includes the AICPA Code of Conduct or Vermont accountancy statutes and rules. This must be done within 2 years of your application filing date.
The International CPA examination program
Vermont encourages foreign candidates to become CPAs by participating in the International CPA Examination Program. Through this program, CPA aspirants must have their credentials evaluated by NASBA International Evaluation Services (NIES) or any member organization of the National Association of Credential Evaluation Services (NACES). The report will provide you with the credit equivalency of your degree. If it matches the state's requirement, you can apply to become a CPA as per Vermont CPA requirements.
Vermont CPA Exam & License Fees
First-time CPA Exam applicants in Vermont must pay an application fee of $170 and examination fee of $238.15 per exam section. If you need to retake an exam section, you will be charged a registration fee of $85 in addition to the examination fee.
|Vermont CPA Exam Fees
|Initial Application Fee
|Auditing and Attestation (AUD)
|Business Environment and Concepts (BEC)
|Financial Accounting and Reporting (FAR)
After passing the CPA Exam, gaining work experience, and completing the ethics exam, you can apply for a Vermont CPA license through the state's portal. The Vermont CPA application fee is $100.
Vermont CPA License Renewal & CPE Requirements
Vermont CPA license holders must renew their licenses biennially with a fee of $220. They must also submit proof of completed continuing professional education (CPE) that meets the following requirements:
- If you were licensed prior to the start of the current renewal cycle, you must complete 80 total CPE credits (4 in ethics, 8 in accounting and auditing, and the remaining 68 in accountancy related matters)
- If you were licensed in the first year of the renewal cycle, you must complete 40 total CPE credits in accountancy related matters
- If you were licensed after the first year of the renewal cycle, you do not need to complete CPE
Visit the State Board website to view the latest information on Vermont CPA CPE requirements.
Vermont CPA Exam Dates, Score Release, and Scheduling
Vermont CPA aspirants can sit for the CPA Exam year-round based on their preferred date and location. Your score will be available within 48 hours of the AICPA’s listed CPA Exam score release date. You can learn more about scheduling the CPA Exam below:
Submit CPA Exam Application and Fees
You can apply for the CPA Exam via CPA Central, NASBA's examination portal. You must enter all the required information and ensure that your educational transcripts are sent directly to NASBA from your university.
Obtain Authorization to Test (ATT)
Once your application is submitted, the State Board will determine your eligibility to sit for the CPA Exam. If eligible, you will receive an Authorization to Test (ATT) that certifies your eligibility to take the CPA Exam.
Receive Your Notice to Schedule (NTS)
NASBA will email you a Notice to Schedule (NTS) within three to six weeks of submitting your application. Your NTS number is required to schedule the CPA Exam. Make sure to bring your NTS to the Prometric testing center.
Schedule Your Exam With Prometric
After receiving your NTS, you can schedule your CPA Exam through Prometric. The portal helps candidates schedule the exam based on their preferred date and location.
Pass the CPA Exam
You must score 75 or higher on each section of the CPA Exam within an 18-month period to pass.