Kansas CPA Requirements

See what you need to become a CPA in your state. Download your FREE State CPA Requirements Guide to learn everything you need to become a CPA in your state!

How to Become a CPA in Kansas

Welcome to your one-stop-shop for CPA Requirements in Kansas. Navigate through the tabs below for a comprehensive overview of your state’s specific CPA requirements, including: education and residency requirements, licensure details, who to contact, and how much the exam costs.

0
Semester Units
0
Hours of Experience
$ 0
in Application Fees

Yes

Residency
Requirements

One

Mandatory
State Ethics Exam

Yes

Participates​ in International
Exam Program
Tabs CSS and JS

Getting your Kansas CPA

CPA Exam Requirements


Education Requirements

150 semester units (225 quarter units)

Minimum Degree: Baccalaureate degree

Additional Requirements: Must complete 42 semester hours in business and general education courses, including the following: (A) Macro- and micro-economics plus one upper division economics course; (B) at least two courses in the legal aspects of business or business law; (C) college algebra or higher level math course; (D) statistics and probability theory course; (E) computer systems and applications course; (F) finance course; (G) management and administration course; (H) marketing course; and (i) production, operations research, or applications of quantitative techniques to business problems course.

30 semester credit hours in courses in accounting theory and practice, including the following: (A) Financial accounting course; (B) managerial accounting beyond an introductory course; (C) auditing course; (D) income tax course; and (E) accounting systems beyond an introductory computer course.

Minimum of 11 hours in written and oral communications type classes are required.


Residency Requirements

Citizenship: U.S. Citizenship is not required

Minimum Age: None

Additional Requirements:Candidate must be a resident, employee, or keep office(s) in the state