Michigan CPA Requirements
Exam and License Requirements To Become A CPA
Michigan CPA Requirements
Michigan CPA Requirements
Acquiring your CPA license means you are eligible to practice in Michigan. However, to get a CPA license, a candidate must meet certain criteria. Here is a list of requirements you must fulfill to get a CPA license in Michigan:
|Social Security Requirement||Yes|
|Age, Citizenship, and Residency Requirements||
|Good Moral Character||Yes|
|Education Requirement for Licensure||150 hours (including B.A.)|
|Pass the Exam||Score at least 75 in each section to pass|
|Work Experience||2,000 hours of work experience|
|Ethics Exam Requirements||No|
|International CPA Examination Program||Yes|
Social Security number (SSN) requirements vary from state to state. In Michigan, you must have a SSN number to get a CPA license. If you are exempted from getting a SSN by law or do not have one, you will be asked to upload the SSN affidavit form when you submit your application.
- U.S. citizenship is not required to acquire a CPA license in Michigan.
- There is no age restriction or requirement to get the CPA license.
- It is not necessary to be a resident, be an employee, or keep office(s) in the state.
To sit for the CPA Exam, you must complete a baccalaureate degree with a minimum of 120 semester hours with a concentration in accounting from an accredited U.S. educational institution. This must include:
- 3 semester hours in Auditing (internal Auditing does not count)
- 21 semester hours in accounting that include the following subject areas:
- Governmental/Fund Accounting
- Financial Accounting and Accounting Theory
- U.S. Federal Taxation
- Accounting Systems and Controls
- Managerial Accounting, including Cost Accounting
- 24 semester hours in business subjects
To obtain a CPA license in Michigan, you must complete a total of 150 semester hours.
Passing the CPA Exam is the most essential requirement for getting a CPA license in Michigan. You need to score 75 to pass each section, and all the sections must be passed within an 18-month time period.
Work Experience Requirements
You must have 2,000 hours of qualifying work experience that was earned during a time frame of one to five calendar years. This experience should be in the government, business, education, or public sector, and verified by a CPA.
Your experience should involve the below-mentioned fields:
- Financial statement audits, reviews, and compilations in compliance with the applicable standards at the time of engagement.
- Attestation engagements and other auditing-related works, such as:
- Operational audits
- Compliance audits
- Expressions of opinion regarding financial projections and forecasts
- Implementation of an independent internal audit
- Income and nonprofit tax return preparation for any taxing jurisdiction
- Tax research
- Audits conducted on behalf of a government audit agency that results in the production of an opinion or report are called government audits
- Compliance audits of government contracts undertaken on behalf of a government agency and resulting in a statement or report
- Representation of a client in a tax matter before a government agency
- Forecasts, analysis, and projections of the economy
- Accounting-related work performed at a public accounting firm
Most state boards require candidates to take an ethics course or exam to gain CPA licensure. However, CPA certification in Michigan does not include passing an ethics exam.
Michigan participates in the International CPA Examination Program, which enables international candidates to become a CPA through the state of Michigan. This process requires candidates to meet the Michigan CPA requirements, which will be verified through the Michigan jurisdiction. To apply to take the CPA Exam outside of the U.S., you must complete the international registration procedure.
Michigan CPA Exam & Licensing - Cost and Fees
The initial CPA Exam application fee in Michigan is $147. The fee to take each section of the CPA Exam is $238.15.
|Michigan CPA Exam Fees|
|Initial Application Fee||$170.00|
|Auditing and Attestation (AUD)||$238.15|
|Business Environment and Concepts (BEC)||$238.15|
|Financial Accounting and Reporting (FAR)||$238.15|
If you are applying for re-examination, you will have to pay both the registration fee and the examination fee.
|Michigan CPA Re-Exam Fees|
|4 examination sections||$97.00|
|3 examination sections||$94.00|
|2 examination sections||$91.00|
|1 examination section||$88.00|
The application fee for a new CPA license is $300. When you are renewing your license, you need to pay another $200 as a renewal fee. Furthermore, in the case of a re-licensure application, the cost stands at $320.
|Michigan CPA License Fees|
|New CPA License||$300.00|
Michigan CPA License Renewal Requirements
All CPA licenses in Michigan must be renewed every two years. Also, you must report your Continuing Professional Education (CPE) to the board on every license renewal period.
Michigan CPA Continuing Education Requirements
CPE Requirement for Michigan Residents:
- Total 80 hours CPE with 40 hours in each year of the license cycle.
- 8 hours of CPE in auditing and accounting.
- 2 hours in professional ethics.
CPE Requirement for Out-of-State Residents:
- You must fulfill the CPE requirements of the state where your primary business is situated.
- If the state where your place of business is located does not have continuing education standards, you must comply with Michigan's.
Michigan CPA Exam: Exam Dates, Score Release and Scheduling
NASBA's CPA Examination Services (CPAES) helps state boards of accountancy with all parts of the CPA Exam. Each state and jurisdiction in the United States has unique CPA Exam requirements.
The CPA Exam is offered all year round, and candidates can take it at any time that is convenient to them. Target score release dates for the CPA Exam are the same for all states, and the AICPA announces all CPA Exam score release dates every two years.
In addition to the dates for score release, you must be aware of the CPA Exam scheduling procedure. Here is a comprehensive summary of the CPA Exam application and scheduling procedure:
Submit CPA Exam Application
Once you have verified that you have met the criteria to sit for the CPA Exam, you can begin the application process. Visit NASBA’s website to apply for the exam, and make sure your transcripts are sent to NASBA directly from your educational institutions.
Receive Authorization to Test (ATT)
If your application and credentials are evaluated and accepted, you will receive an Authorization to Test (ATT) from the Michigan State Board of Accountancy. You must submit your ATT to register for the CPA Exam. Your ATT is only valid for a strict time limit of 90 days.
Obtain Your Notice to Schedule (NTS)
A Notice To Schedule (NTS) will be issued under your name once the board confirms your eligibility for the exam. Typically, it takes three to six weeks for your NTS to arrive. Your NTS is the most essential document to sit for the Uniform CPA Exam.
Schedule Your Exam With Prometric
You can schedule your exam through the Prometric website. Choose the testing center of your choice and schedule the exam on whichever date is most convenient for you. Please note that your NTS is only valid for six months, so you must take the already-registered exam during the validity period.
Pass the CPA Exam
The CPA Exam is a computer-based exam that consists of four sections: Auditing and Attestation (AUD), Business Environment and Concepts (BEC), Financial Accounting and Reporting (FAR), and Regulation (REG). Each section’s scoring range is 0–99, but you must score 75 or higher in each section to pass the CPA Exam.