North Carolina CPA Requirements
Exam and License Requirements To Become a CPA
North Carolina CPA Requirements
North Carolina CPA Requirements
The North Carolina State Board of CPA Examiners is the governing organization responsible for issuing CPA licenses to eligible professionals in the state. It has a single-tier licensing structure, which means the state board does not provide a CPA certificate after completing the CPA Exam. It only permits the CPA license if you meet all the licensure requirements post CPA Exam.
|Social Security Requirements||Yes|
|Age, Citizenship, and Residency Requirements||
|Good Moral Character||Yes|
|Education Requirement for Licensure||150 hours (including B.A.)|
|Pass the Exam||Score at least 75 in each section to pass|
|Work Experience||1 year in public accounting or 4 years in relevant accounting experience|
|Ethics Exam Requirements||Yes|
|International CPA Examination Program||No|
You will need a Social Security number to get a CPA license in North Carolina. Your Social Security number holds an important position in the licensure process.
- U.S. citizenship is required to take the uniform CPA Exam and to obtain a license in North Carolina.
- You must be at least 18 years old to sit for the CPA Exam.
- It is not necessary to be a resident, employee, or keep an office in the state.
A bachelor's degree (120 hours) from a college or university accredited by one of the regional accrediting associations in any field that includes, or is complemented by, a concentration in accounting is required to sit for the exam. A concentration in accounting includes one of the following:
- 30 semester hours of undergraduate accountancy courses that include no more than six semester hours of accounting principles and no more than three semester hours of business law.
- 20 semester hours of graduate accounting courses that are only available for graduate students.
- A blend of undergraduate and graduate accounting courses which would be equivalent to the above two options. Noting that there is a difference between undergraduate and graduate level courses, one credit hour in graduate work is equal to one and one-half credit hours in undergraduate accounting classes.
- To apply for the license, you must have 150 semester hours (including a bachelor’s degree) with a minimum of 24 hours consisting of 3 hours from at least 8 of these 10 fields of study: communications, computer technology, economics, ethics, finance, humanities, international environment, law, management, and statistics.
The CPA Examination is the most important criterion for earning the CPA credential. Each section requires a minimum score of 75 to pass the exam. In addition, you must pass all four sections within 18 months. If an applicant did not take the Uniform CPA Examination in North Carolina, they must submit an Interstate Exchange form completed by the jurisdiction in which they took the examination in order to have their exam scores transferred to North Carolina.
You are required to have 1 year of experience in the public practice of accountancy under the direct supervision of a properly licensed CPA, or 4 years of experience in the field of accounting, teaching accounting, or any combination of such experience determined by the Board to be substantially equivalent to the foregoing.
You must complete an 8-hour ethics course and pass an exam on the North Carolina Rules of Professional Ethics and Conduct.
The International CPA Program is specifically designed to accommodate non-U.S. candidates taking the CPA Exam. North Carolina does not take part in this initiative.
North Carolina CPA Exam & Licensing - Cost and Fees
The initial CPA Exam application fee in North Carolina is $230, and the re-examination charge is approximately $75. The fee to take each section of the CPA Exam is $238.15.
|North Carolina CPA Exam Fees|
|Initial Application Fee||$230.00|
|Auditing and Attestation (AUD)||$238.15|
|Business Environment and Concepts (BEC)||$238.15|
|Financial Accounting and Reporting (FAR)||$238.15|
If you have passed the Uniform CPA Exam and met all the licensing requirements, you can apply for your CPA license in North Carolina. It will cost you approximately $100.
North Carolina CPA License Renewal Requirements
Every active CPA license must be renewed before July 1st each year. You need to submit a renewal application that confirms your Continuing Professional Education (CPE). The license renewal fee is $60. If you fail to renew your license by July 1st, the North Carolina State Board will send a letter of demand to your registered address. Once your license is revoked, you are no longer a CPA.
North Carolina CPA Continuing Education Requirements
All active CPAs are required to have 40 hours of CPE, which includes at least 50 minutes of professional ethics and conduct courses. You are no longer required to submit any CPE if your license is inactive.
North Carolina CPA Exam: Exam Dates, Score Release, and Scheduling
The CPA Exam is held year-round and candidates can schedule their exam accordingly. It is administered by CPA Examination Services (CPAES), a NASBA sub-division. However, ensure to check the CPA Exam score release dates that AICPA shares biennially.
Below is a step-wise guide to applying and scheduling the CPA Exam in North Carolina.
Submit CPA Exam Application
If you are confident that you meet all the CPA Exam requirements, you may submit your application. You can apply using the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA)'s online application platform. The North Carolina Board evaluates and will approve your application in approximately ten working days.
Obtain Authorization to Test (ATT)
After the board has approved your CPA Exam application, NASBA will send you an Authorization to Test (ATT). The ATT serves primarily as authorization to sit for the CPA Exam. It indicates that the board has confirmed your eligibility to schedule and take the exam.
Receive Your Notice to Schedule (NTS)
Your "Notice to Schedule" (NTS) is an essential document for scheduling your CPA Exam. It is provided three to six weeks after submitting an application for the CPA Exam. You will need to take your NTS with you to the Prometric testing center as you will not be allowed to take the exam without it. It is strongly suggested by the board that you keep two copies of your NTS printouts.
Schedule Your Exam With Prometric
To increase your chances of getting your preferred test day, time, and location, NASBA advises scheduling the CPA Exam at least six weeks in advance. The Prometric website allows for the scheduling of the Certified Public Accountant Exam. You will need your NTS in order to schedule the CPA Exam, as it contains your NTS number.
Pass the CPA Exam
You must score at least 75 in each section to pass the CPA Exam. A candidate is considered successful when all the sections are passed within an 18-month period. Target score release dates are available above and on the AICPA website.