Florida CPA Requirements
How to Become a CPA in Florida
Curious how to become a CPA in Florida? You’re in the right spot. Welcome to your one-stop-shop for CPA Requirements in Florida. Navigate through the tabs below for a comprehensive overview of your state’s specific CPA requirements, including: education and residency requirements, licensure details, who to contact, and how much the exam costs.
Getting your Florida CPA
CPA Exam Requirements
Credit Requirements: 120 semester hours (180 quarter hours)
Minimum Degree: None
24 semester including coverage in auditing and cost accounting, and three (3) semester financial accounting and three (3) semester hours of taxation both of which must be based on USA accounting standards
24 semester hours of upper level business courses, including 3 semester hours in business law
Citizenship: U.S. Citizenship is not a Florida CPA exam requirement.
Minimum Age: There are no Florida CPA requirements dictating a minimum age limit.
Additional Requirements:There are no Florida CPA exam requirements to be a resident, employee, or keep office(s) in the state.
State License Requirements
Social Security Requirement: Yes
Educational Requirement: 150 semester hours (including Bachelor’s Degree) with 30 semester hours upper division accounting and 36 semester hours upper division business courses
Participates in International Exam Program: Yes
Experience Requirements:1 year experience consisting of at least 20 hours week over a maximum of 104 weeks OR 40 hours a week over a maximum of 52 weeks, fulfilled before, during, or after the CPA Exam. Experience must include accounting, attest, compilation, management advisory, financial advisory, tax, or consulting services.
Ethics Exam: None
Additional Requirements: Candidate must apply for their license within 3 years of passing the CPA Exam or their CPA Exam scores will expire
|Initial Application Fees||$50|
*$75 re-examination application fee